W.J Mead( Builder) Limited is a family owned & run Limited company, founded in 1938 by William and Margret Mead and incorporated in 2006.
William John Mead was born in Fowlmere in 1907 and as a young man had strong interests in music, beekeeping and wood work among other things.
Having an uncle and cousins who were in the building trade running their own company in the early 1900’s William was encouraged to develop his own practical skills, particularly in carpentry and joinery. William married Margret Pluck in c1935 and together they started up their own business trading as W.J Mead Builder and Decorator in c1938
With the business expanding over time the need arose to acquire their own premises, and so in c1946 they acquired Bridge House in Fowlmere and were able to build a joinery shop and have storage for vehicles and building materials for the ever growing business.
In 1965 William and Margret passed the business on their eldest daughter Rachel and son in law Michael Francis who continued the running of the business specialising in extensions, renovations of historic properties (including Churches) and all areas of domestic & local authority building work.
During this time WJ Mead Builder & Decorator became members of the Federation of Master Builders and of the NHBC and received a number of local awards for our work in recognition for the restoration and preservation of local historical buildings.
The company has now been run for a number of years by the 3rd Generation of the family having being trained in the business, with City and Guilds qualifications awarded in the 1980’s and learning from the family skills and experience in the business which has been handed down over the past 75 years to the present day.